Board Member Evaluation

Individual Board Member Self-Evaluation

 

Use the following questions for individual board member evaluation. For board members answering yes to these questions, they are likely to be fulfilling their responsibilities as board members.

 

  Yes No Not Sure
 

1. Do I understand and support the
mission of the organization?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Am I knowledgeable about the
organization’s programs and services?
 

 

 

 

 

 

3. Do I follow trends and important
developments related to this organization?
 

 

 

 

 

 

4. Do I assist with fund-raising and/or give
a significant annual gift to the organization?
 

 

 

 

 

 

5. Do I read and understand the organization’s
financial statements?
 

 

 

 

 

 

6. Do I have a good working relationship with
the chief executive?
 

 

 

 

 

 

7. Do I recommend individuals for service
to this board?
 

 

 

 

 

 

8. Do I prepare for and participate in board
meetings and committee meetings?
 

 

 

 

 

 

9. Do I act as a good-will ambassador to
the organization?
 

 

 

 

 

 

10. Do I find serving on the board to be a
satisfying and rewarding experience?
 

 

 

 

 

 

What good questions did I miss?

 

About Gary Coiro

Nonprofit & Church Leader Nonprofit Leader and Consultant since 2004, following 15 years as a pastor. Competencies include board development, fundraising, staff development and management, strategic planning, church work, Bible teaching, and capital campaigns. Currently consulting and serving on the Church Ministries Management Team for a large multi-cultural evangelical church.
This entry was posted in Fundraising Development Donors. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Board Member Evaluation

  1. Do I work well with and am I supportive of not just the the CEO/Managing Director but also the staff?
    Do I know all the staff by name?
    Do I understand what is required of the staff to make the organization run efficiently and effectively?
    Do I know/understand how the day to day operations run?
    Do I know what the CEO and staff require from me as a board member?
    Do I know/understand the day to day concerns of the organization and staff?
    Am I/is the board on the same page with the staff and membership regarding the future direction of the organization/association?
    Do I know/understand the day to day concerns of the organizations/associations members?
    Do I promote the organization/association to potential members?
    Am I supportive of new technology and ideas?

Leave a Reply

