Motorcycles and the Christian Life – Parallel Themes

As a rider, and a believer, I am noticing 3 themes consistent between the two…

1. Freedom – Ever dance on your motorcycle?  What I mean is, ever accelerate while carving an S in the pavement?  There is a freedom to celebrate when we hit the road, isn’t there?  And of course, we celebrate our freedom from the power and penalty of sin as redeemed believers.

2. Fraternity – While riding my daughter on the bike, she commented to me… “Dad, why are you putting your fingers out when other riders pass?”  Do you notice the instant friendship that develops among bikers?  As believers, we are a family, a body, a family – a fraternity that enjoys something very special in common.

3. Frailty – My friend’s brother died recently in a crash.  Riding is dangerous… Life is temporal.  (James 4:14 NIV)  “Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.”

What themes do you see as a believing rider?

About Gary Coiro

Nonprofit & Church Leader Nonprofit Leader and Consultant since 2004, following 15 years as a pastor. Competencies include board development, fundraising, staff development and management, strategic planning, church work, Bible teaching, and capital campaigns. Currently consulting and serving on the Church Ministries Management Team for a large multi-cultural evangelical church.
This entry was posted in Ministry Leadership Bible. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Motorcycles and the Christian Life – Parallel Themes

  1. Rhonda Crum says:

    I pray for safety every time I ride! It reminds me how vulnerable I am and it forces me to be submissive. “Life is but a vapor”…

  2. Before I take a ride on my bike, I say to myself:” There will be at least one in the traffic, who tries to kill you today”. It gives another type of riding. I read the traffic another way, when I drive, with this thought in my mind. I often drive through Copenhagen Centrum.
    We also drive at the country side of Denmark. When we see this beautiful creation The Lord has done in the nature. It’s amazing. We have a lot of experiences with The Lord when we visit other Biker clubs where the bikers don’t believe in The Lord. God is Great !!!!!

Leave a Reply

