The Obvious… Asking for Money is Important

How to ask major donors for money

“After you have acknowledged and affirmed your donor, built trust, and presented your case for support, it is time for the ask! Here is an example of language to use when it seems like the right time to transition from presentation to ask: ‘Dave, based on the information I’ve shared with you here, do you have any concerns about this project? Any questions I could answer? No? Would this be a good time to share with you what we’re going to need financially? This is a $55,000 project. We’re looking for three donors of $10,000 or more. Would you be willing to take one of those positions, to be one of those partners?’ Well, I need to talk to my wife; we need to pray about it. ‘Awesome. I totally affirm that. When would be a good time for me to follow up with you about this? I don’t want to bug you about it. You tell me.’ Why don’t you call me on Wednesday afternoon? I’ll have this figured out by then. ‘Cool. If you find that you have any other questions or concerns between now and then, just give me a call.’”

* Like what you just read and want to learn more? Check out, Donors Are People Too: Managing Relationships With Your Ministry’s Major Contributors.

About Gary Coiro

Nonprofit & Church Leader Nonprofit Leader and Consultant since 2004, following 15 years as a pastor. Competencies include board development, fundraising, staff development and management, strategic planning, church work, Bible teaching, and capital campaigns. Currently consulting and serving on the Church Ministries Management Team for a large multi-cultural evangelical church.
This entry was posted in Fundraising Development Donors and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

