Jesus: The Gate [John 10:7-10]

gary-B

I had the honor of sharing this message on 7/12/2015 – see the archived video HERE

“I AM Jesus” Summer Sermon Series 2015

There are 7 “I AMs” statements made by Jesus who once said, “Before Abraham was born,  I am”! (John 8:58).  In John’s writing, a key objective is to tell us who Jesus is, and to share how we might have eternal life through Jesus.

John 20:30 “Now Jesus did many other signs in the presence of the disciples, which are not written in this book;”

John 20:31 (ESV) “but these are written so that you may believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God, and that by believing you may have life in his name.”

1 Jn 5:11 And this is the testimony, that God gave us eternal life, and this life is in his Son. 12 Whoever has the Son has life; whoever does not have the Son of God does not have life.  13 I write these things to you who believe in the name of the Son of God that you may know that you have eternal life.

  1. I Am the Living Water (John 4) –
  2. I Am the Bread of Life (John 6:48) –

Light of the World – 8:12/9:5

  1. I Am the Gate (John 10:7) –
  2. I Am the Good Shepherd (John 10:11) –
  3. I Am the Resurrection and the Life (John 11:25) –
  4. I Am the Way, Truth, and Life (John 14:6) –
  5. I Am the Vine (John 15) –

John 8:56 Your father Abraham rejoiced that he would see my day. He saw it and was glad.” 57 So the Jews said to him, “You are not yet fifty years old, and have you seen Abraham?” 58 Jesus said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, before Abraham was, I am.” 59 So they picked up stones to throw at him, but Jesus hid himself and went out of the temple

 

John 8:58 – I AM! Reminded of Moses & Burning Bush in Exodus 3:13 Then Moses said to God, “If I come to the people of Israel and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they ask me, ‘What is his name?’ what shall I say to them?” 14 God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM.” And he said, “Say this to the people of Israel, ‘I AM has sent me to you.’ ”

I AM, assumed as a name, implies (1) an existence different from all other existence. “I am, and there is none beside me” (Isaiah 45:6) It is the “Self-Existent One.”; (2) an existence out of time, with which time has nothing to do (John 8:58); (3), an independent and unconditioned existence, from which all other is derived, and on which it is dependent.

Yahweh – references the fact that God has always existed and will always exist. Verb = ‘to have the quality of being…’ Being what?

 

John’s dilemma is trying to describe the indescribable one… That’s My King clip

 

 

In His “Good Shepherd” discourse of John 10, Jesus chastised the Jewish leaders for failing to give proper spiritual guidance to God’s people Israel. By contrast, He is the “good Shepherd” who laid down His life for the sheep. Hence chapter 10 provides a commentary on the previous chapter that revealed the Jewish leaders’ legal pettiness, rigidity, and hardening toward the purposes of God. He is both the Good Shepherd and the DOOR / GATE through which those who believe in Him find entrance into abundant, eternal life (10:9–10).

The context is John,

All “I AMs” in Gospel of John – John 1: 11 He came to his own, and his own people did not receive him. 12 But to all who did receive him, who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God,

Immediate context is John 9…  Not long before Jesus would give his Life for the Sheep.

  • Blind man healed on Sabbath
  • Religious Leaders question the man
  • He stands his ground
  • They call him an complete sinner, and kick him out
  • Jesus pursues him
  • He believes and worships Jesus

Big Idea – Jesus wants to open our eyes to who He is!

As Jesus begins his discourse on the Good Shepherd, he likely has in mind the Prophecy Against the Shepherds of Israel in Ezekiel 34 The word of the LORD came to me: 2 “Son of man, prophesy against the shepherds of Israel; prophesy, and say to them, even to the shepherds, Thus says the Lord GOD: Ah, shepherds of Israel who have been feeding yourselves! Should not shepherds feed the sheep? 3 You eat the fat, you clothe yourselves with the wool, you slaughter the fat ones, but you do not feed the sheep. 4 The weak you have not strengthened, the sick you have not healed, the injured you have not bound up, the strayed you have not brought back, the lost you have not sought, and with force and harshness you have ruled them. 5 So they were scattered, because there was no shepherd

 

John 10:7-10 [ESV]  John 10:7 [ESV] So Jesus again said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, I am the door of the sheep. 8 All who came before me are thieves and robbers [to prey upon], but the sheep did not listen to them. 9 I am the door. If anyone enters by me, he will be saved [=safe] and will go in and out [guide] and find pasture [provide]. 10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy [death is out to get me]. I came that they may have life [eternal] and have it abundantly [“extraordinary,” “more than sufficient,” “overflowing,”].

The Door Slide.  Both because of their familiarity with Ps 23, the culture of sheep ranching, the audience would be well acquainted with the shepherd/sheep metaphor as well as sheep pen arrangements.

 

  1. Jesus is my SALVATION

 

John 10:9 [ESV] 9 I am the door. If anyone enters by me, he will be saved [=safe] and will go in and out [guide] and find pasture [provide].

Saved used interchangeably in NT with forgiven, eternal life, born again = “gift of eternal life”

The Door / Gate = Pathway… Entrance, Portal, Access.  He is the narrow, exclusive Passageway to Salvation.

Matt 7:13-14 ‘enter by the narrow gate’;

Are you saved?  Are you safe?  Are you forgiven?  Are you going to heaven?  1 Jn 5:11 And this is the testimony, that God gave us eternal life, and this life is in his Son. 12 Whoever has the Son has life; whoever does not have the Son of God does not have life.  13 I write these things to you who believe in the name of the Son of God that you may know that you have eternal life.

Exclusive Access Point! John 14:6 Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

Rom 5:2 Through him we have also obtained access by faith into this grace

Temple – Holy of Holies… Curtain / Vail – Heb 10: 19 Therefore, brothers, since we have confidence to enter the holy places by the blood of Jesus, 20 by the new and living way that he opened for us through the curtain, that is, through his flesh, 21 and since we have a great priest over the house of God, 22 let us draw near with a true heart in full assurance of faith

Do you know?  Hope so, or Know so?  2 Diagnostic Questions…

 

Good News – Heaven is a free gift.  GRACE

Rom 6:23

B/C free, not earner or deserved

Eph 2:8,9

Why needed?  Man is sinner, cannot save himself…

Rom 3:23; Sin defined; 3 sins day

Matt 5:48 – Omelet with Bad Egg

Born in Sin – Sinners by Nature [Rom 5:12; Ps 51:5; Jer 17:9; Ps 19:12  “Who can discern his errors?  Declare me innocent from hidden faults.”

God: Love + Just = Dilemna [solved in the Access Pathway – Jesus]

Record Book of Sin – Isa 53:6; It is finished; Greatest transaction that ever took place!

2 Cor 5: 21 ‘For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.’

What a Gift! Received by Faith

Saving Faith is the Key to Heaven. Confidence, Abandonment [Linguist / Chair]

What “saving faith” is NOT

Reliance in a Religion – Religious leaders in Jn 9 threatened to kick out any who claimed Jesus was the Messiah. system of good deeds [many keys, one door]. Eph 2:8,9

Reliance on Knowledge – Demons believe, James 2:19. Distance b/t Heaven and Hell.  Chair illustration

What “saving faith” IS – Trusting/Relying on Jesus Christ alone for eternal life. To abandon, declare spiritual bankruptcy.  Acts 16:31 – believe ON, not ABOUT.

 

John 6:47 [ESV] 47 Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever believes [rely, trust]  has eternal life.

Rev 3:20 – Jesus asking you right now, “Would you like to receive the gift of eternal life?”

Pray – understand, believe, GMGCF

Assurance – John 6:47 “Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever believes has eternal life.”  Not will have, has!  Done deal.

 

  1. Jesus is my SECURITY [I’m safe!] Are you safe?

 

John 10:9 [ESV] 9 I am the door. If anyone enters by me, he will be saved [=safe] and will go in and out [guide] and find pasture [provide].

If you are saved, you are safe!  In and Out FREELY, purpose to give LIFE vs. Thief/Robber – steal away Eternal and Abundant Life.  Saved = state of being SAFE.

John 10:27-29 [ESV] 27 My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me. 28 I give them eternal life, and they will never perish, and no one will snatch them out of my hand. 29 My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all, and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand.

Indwelt – seal/guarantee/downpayment – Holy Spirit. John 14:16; 1 Cor 6:19. The seal marks God’s ownership 2Co 1:21-22. 2Co 5:5; Eph 4:30

Eph 1:13 ….when you heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation, and believed in him, were sealed [legal protection and guarantee] with the promised Holy Spirit, 14 who is the guarantee [commercial term – deposit/downpayment] of our inheritance until we acquire possession of it, to the praise of his glory.

v.28-  Nothing – No matter what has been done to you… No victimization – shame, unworthy.  No failure – 1 Jn 1:9. Assurance = communion with Spirit.  Rom 8:16 “The Spirit himself bears witness [confirms] with our spirit that we are children of God”

Romans 8, nothing can separate,

Romans 8:35 Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword? 36 As it is written:

“For your sake we face death all day long;

we are considered as sheep to be slaughtered.”

37 No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. 38 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39 neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

  1. Jesus is my SATISFACTION – Do you have a satisfying life? Are you satisfied? What brings you satisfaction? Where do you look/go for satisfaction? What would make your life more satisfying/meaningful/purposeful?  Peace/Joy, Meaning / Relationship.

 

John 10:9-10 [ESV] 9 I am the door. If anyone enters by me, he will be saved [=safe] and will go in and out [guide] and find pasture [provide]. 10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy [death is out to get me]. I came that they may have life [eternal] and have it abundantly [“extraordinary,” “more than sufficient,” “overflowing,”].

  • In and Out – GUIDE

John 10:3 “….The sheep hear his [the Shepherd’s] voice, and he calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. 4 When he has brought out all his own, he goes before them, and the sheep follow him, for they know his voice.”

10:4, 5 Unlike Western shepherds who drive the sheep from the side or behind, often using sheep dogs, Near Eastern shepherds lead their flocks, their voice calling them to move on. This draws a remarkable picture of the master/disciple relationship. NT spiritual leadership is always by example, i.e., a call to imitate conduct (cf. 1 Tim. 4:12; 1 Pet. 5:1–3).

  • Find Pasture – PROVIDE Ps. 23:2. pasturage n. — pastureland containing vegetation fit for grazing.

Ps 23:1 ‘The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. 2 He makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters

Not only is Jesus offering Life Eternal, but Life Abundant!  “abundantly” =  [“extraordinary,” “more than sufficient,” “overflowing,”].

We all thirst – Ps 42

Where do you quench your thirst?  Jer 2:13 ‘for my people have committed two evils:

they have forsaken me,

the fountain of living waters,

and hewed out cisterns for themselves,

broken cisterns [not everyone roaming around the pen is working for the Shepherd] that can hold no water.’

An abundance of what?  What we thirst for… Joy / Peace / Love / Meaning…

Gatorade – Thirst Quencher for over 40 years… Jesus

Piper “God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in Him.”

Westminster Shorter Catechism of 1647 – 107 Q/A. #1 = Q. What is the chief end of man?

  1. Man’s chief end is to glorify God, and to enjoy him forever.

 

My WORSHIP is about Jesus

 

John 9:38 [ESV] 33 If this man were not from God, he could do nothing.” 34 They answered him, “You were born in utter sin, and would you teach us?” And they cast him out.

35 Jesus heard that they had cast him out, and having found him he said, “Do you believe in the Son of Man?” 36 He answered, “And who is he, sir, that I may believe in him?” 37 Jesus said to him, “You have seen him, and it is he who is speaking to you.” 38 He said, “Lord, I believe,” and he worshiped him.

 

Response – John 9: 38 He said, “Lord, I believe,” and he worshiped him.

What happens when I think about the Lord?

 

What happens when I think about the Lord?

About Gary Coiro

Nonprofit & Church Leader Nonprofit Leader and Consultant since 2004, following 15 years as a pastor. Competencies include board development, fundraising, staff development and management, strategic planning, church work, Bible teaching, and capital campaigns. Currently consulting and serving on the Church Ministries Management Team for a large multi-cultural evangelical church.
This entry was posted in Fundraising Development Donors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

